Those folks over at Inglorius Monk Bakery are diabolical. They sent me a few samples to try out and review. They knew what they were doing. The Whoopie Pies are peanut free, tree nut free, dairy free, soy free, Gluten free, egg free and GMO free and are made from all natural ingredients. My plan was to visit a friend, who has Celiac disease, with the samples to share and get her feedback. I never made it that far. We made tea and my kids and I dove in deep. We sampled the pumpkin and lemon Whoopie Pie varieties along with the chocolate and chocolate chip Whoopie Bites. Note: I was not paid to review these products or say good things about them. My goal is to share items that I find along our food allergy and asthma path that you may find interesting….or not. The results:
- I preferred the Whoopie Pies and was probably influenced since pumpkin and lemon are two of my favorite flavors.
- I found the Whoopie Pies to be slighlty moister than the Whoopie Bites.
- My daughter preferred the Whoopie Bites which were darling little bite sized Whoopie Pies.
- We sampled the chocolate and chocolate chip Whoopie Bites and found their sizes to be perfect for a quick little sweet taste.
- My family can eat wheat, so we are very critical of gluten-free items and we found these Whoopie Pies to be fantastic!
- The flavors were pronounced, yet light enough to go perfectly well with tea.
- The texture was delicate and not crumbly. They shipped perfectly.
- Some flavors beg for coffee but these Whoopie Pies can easily be consumed with tea or coffee.
- All of our Whoopie Pies arrived individually wrapped, which translates to easy freezer storage for those last-minute parties or events!
- Inglorious Monk Bakery offers Whoopie Cakes and even chocolate dipped Whoopie Pies in addition to other flavors, such as peppermint! Chocolate Dipped is just wrong-I know I’ll be come slave to those too if I order one.
The morning after our sampling, my daughter scolded me for not ordering more! Needless to say, you know what I am doing today. The only item I found missing from the website were actual product ingredients. Some of my friend’s can’t eat certain flours, such as garbanzo and therefore, you might need to call the bakery to confirm ingredients if the foods you are avoiding go beyond the major allergens.